Alhaji Yakubu Adam appointed GCB board member

Share this storyShare on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn


A banker, consultant and private businessman, Alhaji Alhassan Yakubu Adam, has been appointed as board member of GCB Bank Limited.

He has consequently been sworn in to perform his duties. The swearing in ceremony was witnessed by the Board Chairman of the Bank, Mr Jude Kofi Arthur and other members of the Board.

Alhaji Alhassan Yakubu graduated from the Universityof Ghana Business School with a B.Sc. Administration (Banking & Finance) in 1990 and an MBA (Finance) in 2001. He also holds a certificate in Financial Institution Analysis from the Financial Institution Analysis School of the Federal Reserve Bank, Washington DC, USA.

He started his career in Banking at Merchant Bank Ghana Limited and later moved to the Banking Supervision Department of the Bank of Ghana in 1991 where he worked until 2004. During his 13 year career at the Central Bank, his schedule included both on and off-site supervision of commercial and rural banks as well non-bank financial institutions. He was a Member of the team that drafted the revised Banking Supervision Department’s Examination Manual and reviewed also played roles in many policy initiatives. He ws a member of the Banking Law review.

He possesses a working knowledge of Financial Institution Analysis, Corporate Governance, Credit Management, Treasury and investment management, monitoring and evaluation. He has attended several capacity building courses and acquired certificates in Bank Management, Credit Management, Advanced Credit Management, Treasury Risk Management, Asset & Liability Management, International Banking, Public Finance and Supervisory Skills amongst others.

He now runs his own business and has also worked as a consultant for both bank and non-bank financial institutions.

Below is the full list of the members of the GCB Board: 

1.    Mr. Jude Arthur                                     –          Chairman     

2.    Mr. Ray Anselm Sowah                        –           Managing Director

3.    Mr. Socrates Afram                              –          Deputy Managing Director (Finance)

4.    Mr. Samuel Amankwah                       –          Deputy Managing Director (Operations)

5.    Mr. Nik Amarteifio                               

6.    Mr. Francis Arthur-Collins                   

7.    Mrs. Lydia Essah 

8. Nana Ama Ayensua Saara III                                

9.    Mr. Ray Ankrah                                    

10.    Mr. Osmani Aludiba Ayuba               

11.  Alhaji Alhassan Yakubu Adam          


Ghana  |